Mean vs. Median

Tom Maguire has a great exposition on the difference between mean and median.  Cool. I’m using it in my new Applied Statistics class.

Tip from the Instapundit.

Update (14 August)  Looks like I had my 15 seconds of fame yesterday, and blew it.  Here’s a bar graph depicting the distribution of dance partners in Maguire’s post…and a great graphic I’ll be using as an attention-getter on my lecture slide.  Naturally, my lovely wife had a comment: "I’m
not too impressed by the study. To paraphrase Bill Clinton, men always lie about sex, and it’s been my
experience that women always lie about dance partners."

Leave a Reply

