The professors who won’t retire

I work in what must be an exceptional department; my chair would be short of faculty if anyone retired right now.  Not so other places.  I love this comment

In 1991 I decided to go for my PhD, and my advisor told me "In ten
years there will be plenty of jobs, because all the old professors will
retire."

In 1996 when I graduated, my advisor told me "In ten years there
will be plenty of jobs, because all of the old professors will retire."

In 1998 when I left academia because I was sick of temporary
positions, my advisor told me "In ten years there will be plenty of
jobs, because all the old professors will retire."

This year my advisor retired (an unusual event in his department),
and I told this story at a banquet for him. Later he took me aside and
said, "In ten years there will be plenty of jobs, because all the old
professors will be dead."

Tip from the Instapundit.

Leave a Reply

