Here’s to Toast!

OK, so I sometimes succumb to fads.  While munching on toasted pan de xocol with crunchy peanut butter for breakfast, I mentioned to my lovely wife that we were honorary hipsters, indulging in the latest bistro trend, fancy toast. “You’ve gotta be kidding,” she said.  “Toast? Toast?!  What happened to muesli and quinoa and cupcakes and kale all that other hippy-dippy stuff?”

I assured her that cupcakes were passe, kale was s-o-o-o yesterday, and tapas were, well, toast.  I confess, toast is a trend I can get with, mainly because it’s always been with us*–who doesn’t like toast?–now it’s just more so.  And now my oversized bagel toaster is vintage hipster gear.

*In her fractous childhood, my baby sister (the oncology nurse) subsisted entirely on toast and chocolate milk for about two years with no ill effects.

Leave a Reply

